• All Events
  1. YEAR
  2. 2019
  3. 2018
  4. 2017
  5. 2016
  6. 2015
  7. 2014
  8. 2013
  9. 2012
  10. 2011
  11. 2010
  • « Back
    11.19.15 Barry L. Zaretsky Roundtable - International Harmonization of Bankruptcy and Secured Credit: Security vs. Rescue
    Thursday, November 19
    6:30 to 9:00 p.m.

    Brooklyn Law School
    Feil Hall
    Forchelli Conference Center, 22nd Floor
    205 State Street
    Brooklyn, NY

    By invitation only.

    About the Discussion
    International and multilateral organizations have spearheaded efforts to modernize and harmonize the law of bankruptcy and secured credit. These projects, often sponsored by the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL), have for the most part presented as international standards rules that are generally consistent with U.S. (and sometimes UK) law and practice. The program will describe and discuss current UNCITRAL projects, including:

    •    Model Secured Transactions Law, providing legislative language to effectuate the recommendations of UNCITRAL’s Legislative Guide on Secured Transactions;
    •    The development of a template for coordinating the bankruptcy administration and governance of cross-border corporate groups, including so-called synthetic measures; and
    •    Harmonization of the law governing the obligations of officers and directors in corporate groups, as well as the enforcement of insolvency-related judgments and orders.

    Emphasis will be placed on why thoughtful practitioners should be following these projects now.

    Sponsored by the Center for the Study of Business Law and Regulation and the American Bankruptcy Institute

    Professor Barry L. Zaretsky (1950-1997)
    Professor Barry L. Zaretsky, a member of the Brooklyn Law School faculty for 19 years, was a teacher and mentor to countless Brooklyn Law School students and a distinguished bankruptcy and commercial law scholar. His work inside and outside the classroom bridged the worlds of theory and practice.

    Barry L. Zaretsky Steering Committee

    Hon. Stuart M. Bernstein, United States Bankruptcy Court, SDNY
    Hon. Shelley C. Chapman, United States Bankruptcy Court, SDNY
    Hon. Carla E. Craig, United States Bankruptcy Court, EDNY
    Hon. Robert D. Drain, United States Bankruptcy Court, SDNY
    Hon. Dorothy T. Eisenberg ’50, United States Bankruptcy Court, EDNY (ret.)
    Hon. James L. Garrity, United States Bankruptcy Court, SDNY
    Hon. Robert E. Gerber, United States Bankruptcy Court, SDNY
    Hon. Martin Glenn, United States Bankruptcy Court, SDNY
    Hon. Robert E. Grossman ’73, United States Bankruptcy Court, EDNY
    Hon. Sean H. Lane, United States Bankruptcy Court, SDNY
    Hon. Nancy Hershey Lord ’80, United States Bankruptcy Court, EDNY
    Hon. Cecelia G. Morris, United States Bankruptcy Court, SDNY
    Hon. Louis A. Scarcella, United States Bankruptcy Court, EDNY
    Hon. Elizabeth S. Stong, United States Bankruptcy Court, EDNY
    Hon. Alan S. Trust, United States Bankruptcy Court, EDNY
    Hon. Michael E. Wiles, United States Bankruptcy Court, SDNY
    John R. Ashmead ’90, Seward & Kissel LLP
    Ingrid M. Bagby ’96, Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft LLP
    Leslie S. Barr ’84, Windels Marx Lane & Mittendorf LLP
    David M. Barse ’87, Third Avenue Management LLC
    Neil M. Berger ’85, Togut, Segal & Segal LLP
    Daniel B. Besikof ’04, Loeb & Loeb LLP
    Harold S. Berzow ’71, Ruskin Moscou Faltischek PC
    William P. Bowden ’88, Ashby & Geddes
    Michael G. Burke ’02, Sidley Austin LLP
    Melanie L. Cyganowski, Otterbourg PC
    Leah Eisenberg ’00, Arent Fox LLP
    Angela Ferrante ’99, GCG, Inc.
    Janine M. Figueiredo’02, Hahn & Hessen LLP
    Michael A. Fischer ’92, Fischer Law Firm, PLLC
    Jonathan L. Flaxer ’79, Golenbock Eiseman Assor Bell & Peskoe LLP
    Ronald J. Friedman ’96, SilvermanAcampora LLP
    William D. Gardner '97, Whyte Hirschboeck Dudek S.C.
    Scott A. Golden ’92, Hogan Lovells LLP
    Andrew N. Goldman ’92, Wilmer, Cutler, Pickering, Hale and Dorr, LLP
    Marcia L. Goldstein, Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP       
    Lawrence P. Gottesman ’84, Bryan Cave LLP
    Scott L. Hazan ’73, Otterbourg PC
    Robert M. Hirsh ’98, Arent Fox LLP
    Ron L. Jacobs ’81, Prime Clerk
    Denise Kaloudis ’02, Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP
    Samuel S. Kohn ’99, Chadbourne & Parke LLP
    Samuel E. Kramer ’82, Law Office of Samuel E. Kramer
    Brian S. Lennon ’03, Third Avenue Management LLC
    Saima M. Meyer ’05, Kurtzman Carson Consultants (KCC)
    Jennifer L. Marines ’05, Morrison & Foerster LLP
    Dan McElhinney '97, Acumen Recovery Services, LLC
    Angela Tese Milner ’82, Tese & Milner LLP
    Joseph T. Moldovan ’82, Morrison Cohen LLP
    Steven H. Newman ’90, Katsky & Korins LLP
    Matthew W. Olsen ’02, Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP
    James M. Peck, Morrison & Foerster LLP
    Kenneth Pasquale ’90, Stroock & Stroock & Lavan LLP
    Cassandra Porter ’04, Lowenstein Sandler LLP
    Gary O. Ravert ’00, Ravert PLLC
    Ira A. Reid ’87, Baker & McKenzie LLP
    Geoffrey A. Richards ’95, Canaccord Genuity Inc.
    Fred B. Ringel ’85, Robinson Brog Leinwand Greene Genovese & Gluck P.C.
    Frederick B. Rosner ’86, The Rosner Law Group LLC
    Joseph Samet ’74, Baker & McKenzie LLP (ret.)
    Michael L. Schein ’93, Vedder Price PC
    Robert T. Schmidt ’89, Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP
    William H. Schrag ’78, Thompson Hine LLP
    Andrew I. Silfen ’86, Arent Fox LLP
    Bennett S. Silverberg ’00, Brown Rudnick LLP
    Paul N. Silverstein ’81, Andrews Kurth LLP
    Steven B. Smith '99, Dickstein Shapiro LLP
    Joseph H. Smolinsky ’88, Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP
    Richard Stern ’79, Luskin, Stern & Eisler LLP
    Enid Nagler Stuart ’80, New York State Office of the Attorney General
    Scott Y. Stuart '87, Esquify Inc.
    Myron Trepper ’68
    Edward S. Weisfelner ’82, Brown Rudnick LLP
    David Y. Wolnerman ’01, White & Wolnerman, PLLC
The Introverted Lawyer

Watch: Book launch for Professor Heidi Brown, Director of the Legal Writing Program and author of The Introverted Lawyer: A Seven-Step Journey Toward Authentically Empowered Advocacy