• Upcoming
  • All Events
  1. YEAR
  2. 2019
  3. 2018
  4. 2017
  5. 2016
  6. 2015
  7. 2014
  8. 2013
  9. 2012
  10. 2011
  11. 2010
  • « Back
    04.23.19 Women’s Leadership Network Program: Diversity and Inclusion
    BLS logo square

    Tuesday, April 23
    6:30 to 8:30 p.m.

    Brooklyn Law School - Feil Hall
    Forchelli Conference Center
    205 State Street
    Brooklyn, NY

    RSVP Online

    Creating diverse and inclusive workplaces continues to be a significant challenge facing the legal profession. In fact, according to two recent articles, “the legal profession remains one of the least diverse of any profession” (ABA) and “law firms took steps forward in diversity in 2018, not leaps” (The American Lawyer).

    While legal workplaces have enhanced their professional development programs, created initiatives to strengthen their attorney retention and advancement, offered training and education on unconscious bias, and developed metrics to benchmark promotion and compensation, the diversity and inclusion challenges persist.

    This program, moderated by Justice Rosalyn Richter `79, NYS Supreme Court, Appellate Division, First Department will offer insights from panelists representing a range of legal environments on the challenges their organizations have faced, the successful initiatives they’ve taken, as well as the continuing steps that are necessary to build, retain, and promote a diverse workforce.
    A networking reception will follow.

    Professor I. Bennett Capers - Stanley A. August Professor of Law, Brooklyn Law School
    Harriet Newman Cohen `74 – Founding Partner, Cohen Rabin Stine Schumann LLP
    Dona Fraser `01 – Director, The Children’s Advertising Review Unit (CARU)
    Melique Jones `98 -  Director, Talent Pipeline & Inclusion, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
    Joyce Tavoulareas `01 – Global Chief Operating Officer of Research and Managing Director, Morgan Stanley


    Justice Rosalyn Richter `79, NYS Supreme Court, Appellate Division, First Department

    Women's Leadership Circle
    Debbie Epstein Henry '94, Chair
    Andrea Anderson '04
    Anna Ashurov '12
    Meeka Bondy '94
    Anne Marie Bowler '00
    Colleen Caden '99
    Denise Faltischek '00
    Hon. Emily Goodman `68
    Stacy Kanter '84
    Susan Karten '83
    Hon. Claire Kelly '93
    Alexa Kranzley '08
    Nicole Middleton '01
    Karin Norton '97
    Colleen Piccone '90
    Susan Posen '78
    Dorothea Regal '78
    Nicole Schermerhorn '12
    Jodi Siegel-Stein '06
    Anne Swern '80
    Sophia Valiotis '04
    Bev Wilson '12

The Introverted Lawyer

Watch: Book launch for Professor Heidi Brown, Director of the Legal Writing Program and author of The Introverted Lawyer: A Seven-Step Journey Toward Authentically Empowered Advocacy