Merit Scholars Program

Brooklyn Law School established the Merit Scholars Program to provide scholarship assistance to entering students from whom we have reason to expect outstanding academic achievement. Awards are based on scholastic accomplishment and demonstrated aptitude for law study. Scholarships are awarded for an academic year. Half of an annual award is applied as credit to a student's fall semester tuition charges, and the balance of the award is applied to spring semester tuition charges.

Eligibility for renewal of merit scholarships is determined by the student's cumulative academic rank at the end of their first year. For students ranked in the top 10% of the class, it is possible to receive a larger merit scholarship after the first year.

Named Scholarships

A portion of your merit scholarship may come from the funds of Brooklyn Law School’s named scholarships. Each year, we award a number of named scholarships established largely through the generosity of loyal alumni and friends of Brooklyn Law School.  

Each fall semester, a committee of deans and other administrators awards these scholarships. There is no application process. If you receive a named scholarship, we will advise you in the fall. 

Merit Scholarship Program Guidelines for Students Entering In or After 2020

Merit Scholarship Retention Data

Students Matriculating In # Entering with Conditional Scholarships # Whose Conditional Scholarships Have Since Been Reduced or Eliminated
2022-2023: 393 365 61
2021-2022: 422 390 73
2020-2021: 411 394 74

Need-Based Grants

Admitted Students may be eligible for a BLS Need-Based Grant if they do not have scholarships that cover 100% of their full tuition costs. Need-Based Grants are automatically renewed each year. To be considered for a Brooklyn Law School Need-Based Grant after being admitted to the law school, see BLSConnect for instructions. The deadline for consideration is June 30th. Apply as soon as possible after admission because funds are limited.

Public Service Grants

We provide public service grants to every student who wishes to work during the summer at a government agency, public interest or non-profit organization. Last academic year, approximately 300 students were able to take advantage of these opportunities even though many employers do not have the budget to pay law students. All students are eligible to apply for a grant.

Prince Scholarship

This scholarship honors Jerome Prince, Brooklyn Law School’s longtime Dean and Professor of Law. Dean Prince’s dedicated service to Brooklyn Law School and the legal community--as teacher, scholar, administrator and public servant--spanned over fifty productive years. As a member of the faculty beginning in 1934, as dean from 1953 to 1971, and as a trustee until 1988, he played a major, enduring role in guiding this school to provide superior academic and professional training. Furthermore, Jerome Prince was considered the preeminent authority on evidence in the State of New York.

Carswell Scholarship

This scholarship honors William B. Carswell, a distinguished Justice of the Appellate Division of the New York State Supreme Court who served as dean of Brooklyn Law School from 1945 to 1953. Under Dean Carswell’s leadership, Brooklyn Law School survived the financially difficult post-war years. Enrollment increased dramatically, and the School entered into a new era of great prosperity.

Richardson Scholarship

This scholarship honors William Payson Richardson, the co-founder of Brooklyn Law School and its dean from 1901 to 1945. Dean Richardson was a distinguished legal scholar. The current, updated edition of his most notable work, Richardson on Evidence, is still a leading text.

Lisle Scholarship

This scholarship honors Raymond E. Lisle, Brooklyn Law School’s dean from 1971 to 1977. Dean Lisle was a former Foreign Service Officer who, over a 22-year career, served in the United States Department of State in many capacities, including Deputy Assistant Secretary of State and Director of Relations with Eastern Europe. During his tenure as dean, Brooklyn Law School was accepted as a member of the Association of American Law Schools.

Glasser Scholarship

This scholarship honors I. Leo Glasser, the dean of Brooklyn Law School from 1977 to 1982. As a full-time member of the faculty from 1950 to 1969, he was revered for his inspiring teaching. As dean, he promoted curricular reform, deepened the School’s commitment to clinical education, launched the annual fund drive, and began out-of-state recruitment of students. Since 1982, he has served as a judge of the U.S. District Court, E.D.N.Y.

Dean’s Merit Scholarship

These scholarships are merit-based awards that augment the named scholarships noted above. Their purpose is to provide further recognition and financial assistance to our highest-caliber entering students.

Dean's Recognition Scholarship

Students who enter Brooklyn Law School without a merit scholarship will be awarded a Dean’s Recognition Scholarship for their second year, provided that they finish the spring semester of the first year with a cumulative academic rank that places them within the upper 10% of their graduating class (for full-time students), or the upper 10% of their first-year entering class (for part-time students).

Office of Financial Aid
(718) 780-7915
(718) 228-6796
Monday - Friday 
9:00 am - 5:00 pm