Hone your legal skills in negotiation, mediation, arbitration, and client counseling

The Alternative Dispute Resolution Honor Society (“ADRHS”) is Brooklyn Law School’s distinguished accredited honors organization that prepares students for success in the newest trend in the legal profession. Students participate in alternative dispute resolution competitions across the country in various areas of the law, such as the intellectual property negotiation, international mediation, baseball arbitration, and the securities law triathlon.

ADRHS is committed to fostering an inclusive environment and equipping its members with practical skills in the field of ADR that will prepare them for the practice of law. This commitment includes deliberately creating and maintaining conditions that enable all members to be valued as they are. ADRHS creates points of entry for new members to participate while remaining fair and impartial. We are continually and collectively invested in the growth and development of our members and the Brooklyn Law School community.

Students hone their legal skills in preparation for competitions in four areas of alternative dispute resolution: negotiation, mediation, arbitration, and client counseling. Preparation for competitions through written briefs and contracts, and simulations allows students to gain experience in a unique skill set that allows them to become a better advocate for their client and a more creative problem solver.

These particular legal skills are essential to becoming a successful attorney and universally applicable to all practices of the law. Students may earn academic credit for participating in competitions and for coaching other competitors.

Brooklyn Law School’s ADRHS students won First and Second Place at the NY State Bar Mediation Tournament.

2022-2023 Executive Board

Ellen Piazza

Vice President, Administrative Affairs
Deborah Teslyar

Vice President, Competitive Affairs
Sydney Parks

Administrative Affairs Coordinator
Casey Mefford

Competitive Affairs Coordinator
Jonathan Van Dusen

Tryout Coordinator
Ashley Shin

Alumni & Social Chair
Katie O’Connell

Tryout Chair
Martha Dallman

2021-2022 ADRHS Members

Returning Members
Wilson Baer
Khendrick Beausoleil
Shina Bharadwaja
Hayley Bork
Kathrine Boyko
Francesca Casalino
Jenny Chen
Ryan Dame
Anthony Dimauro
Zane Elsisi
Kathleen Giunta
Yael Golan
Natasha Harris
Michelle Hayek
Veronica Krass
Elizabeth Lavelle
Julia Lee
Rosaleen Maresco
Madeline Martinez
Megan Mccarthy
Stephanie Merkrebs
Eamon Oneill
Jake Rubinstein
Ellie Sands
Skyler Sands
Nina Schroeren
Alexia Seepersaud
Erica Thompson
Stutti Tilwa
Maceo Torres-trujillo
Kevin Trimmer
Justine Woods
New Members

Laura Aloisio
Marina Barron
Naomi Boico
Joe Cairo
Sam Caldarone
Henry Callander
Aniqa Chowdhury
Emma Conaway
Nick Connolly
Anthony Damon
Stephen Dawson
Zachary Elvove
Allison First
Sloane Forbush
Xinyi Geng
Shay Goldberg
Matthew Hans
Kathryn Hennessy
Matthew Huang
Jonah Kaye 
Matthew Masi
Liz Mayer
Olivia Morri
Mitchell Parrish
Ryan Raschella
Imad Rafi
Ali Rawaf 
Nicole Reed
Shiara Robinson
Logan Rudman
Neda Salamzadeh
Ashley Schaf
Jordan Siskind-weiss
Matthew Sobel 
Matthew St. Jeanos
Selma Tabakovic
Danielle Terracciano
Yash Tiwari
Keanu Velez
Sofia Vescovo
Douglas Waltzer

Award-Winning Teams

2022 FINRA Securities Dispute Resolution Triathlon

First Place in Mediation
Keanu Velez, Neda Salamzadeh, and Henry Callander
Coaches: Yael Golan, Jonathan Van Dusen

2022 University of Houston Law Center National Mediation Competition

Madeline Martinez
Coach: Nina Schroeren

2022 ABA Negotiation Competition - Regionals

Kathryn Hennessey, Zane Elsisi
Coaches: Megan McCarthy, Casey Mefford

2022 Villanova MLB Filing Day 

Brendan Ruiz, Jacqueline Martin, Lucas Pozzuto
Coach: Jake Rubinstein

2022 Breanu Mediation Competition

Danielle Terracciano, Imad Rafi
Coach: Maceo Torres-Trujillo

Third Place
Kaitlin O'Connell, Veronica Krass, Jenny Chen
Coaches: Julia Lee, Shina Bharadwaja

Top Mediators
Veronica Krass, Kaitlin O'Connell, Danielle Terracciano

Top Client/Advocate Pair
Imad Rafi, Veronica Krass, Danielle Terracciano, Kaitlin O'Connell

2022 Tulane International Baseball Arbitration Competition

Rosaleen Maresco, Francesca Casalino, Erica Thompson
Coaches: Samantha Shoff, Yaro Radtsevich

2022 Tulane Football Negotiation Competition

Tom Emmonds, Gus Ipsen
Coaches: Mike Meyers, Olivia Rose

2022 ABA Client Counseling Regional Competition

Jonathan Van Dusen, Janae Newmark
Coach: Camille Mangiaratti

2022 Tulane Pro Basketball Negotiation Competition

Second Place
Sherry Lin, Eamon O'Neill
Coaches: William Doheny, Audrey Ziari

2022 Sneaker Law Case Study Competition at University of Miami Law

Casey Mefford, Zane Elsisi
Coach: Spencer Goodson

2022 New York State Bar Mediation Tournament

Kat Giunta, Kevin Trimmer, Rosaleen Maresco
Coaches: Eric Raff, Megan McCarthy

Second Place
Jonathan Van Dusen, Subha Tasnim, Julia Lee
Coaches: Hasan Tariq, Sherry Lin

Best Mediator Award
Jonathan Van Dusen

2022 CPR International Mediation Competition - Brazil (Virtual)

Third Place
Deb Teslyar, Michelle Hayek, Ryan Dame
Coaches: Angelina Sanchez, Sam Bhat

Best Counsel Award
Deb Tesylar

Best Client Award
Michelle Hayek

2022 Transatlantic Negotiation Competition

Ellie Sands, Stutti Tilwa
Coaches: Meghan Johnke, Yaro Radtsevich

Best Advocate Award
Ellie Sands

2021 International Peacekeeping and Conflict Resolution Competiton - India (Virtual)

Sherry Lin, Austin Dowdle, Shina Bharadwaja  
Coaches: Yaro Radtsevich, Gus Ipsen

2021 University of Houston Law Center National Mediation Competition

Angelina Sanchez
Coach: Xinxin Zhou

2021 National Sports Law Negotiation Competition

Ellen Piazza, Anthony Dimauro
Coaches: Yaroslav Radtsevich, Evan Tancil

2021-2022 ABA National Arbitration Competition

National Champions
Hayley Bork, Stutti Tilwa, Monica Rashed, Ryan Dame
Coaches: Allie Bravi, Olivia Rose, Cara Anstey

16th ICC International Commercial Mediation Competition

Fourth Place / Semifinalists
Susan Kritzmacher, Noelle Stone, and Melissa Ronan
Coach: Robert Butlien and Kat Teng

2021 Tulane Professional Football Negotiation Competition

Second Place
Yaroslav Radtsevich, Michael Meyers
Coach: Alexa Bennett, Drew Fryhoff

2021 ABA Client Counseling Competition

First Place
Sari Kreutzer, Taylor Arluck
Coach: Eliza Simons

Honor Society Tryouts

The Alternative Dispute Resolution Honor Society Tryouts take place in the spring semester during February or March. This highly competitive mock negotiation will determine who will be invited to join the society for the following competition year.

The tryout competition is comprised of two separate rounds of multi-party negotiations that will be judged by current ADRHS members. Participants will be sent a general fact pattern and respective private facts depending on the party that they will be assigned to represent. Participants will be told certain concessions their clients have authorized and certain demands they need to meet on behalf of their client. Performance will be scored on a rubric that considers factors such as professionalism and ethics, comprehension of client’s goals, and ability to work alongside other negotiating parties. Participants will be e-mailed the rubric prior to their tryout.

The number of students admitted to join ADRHS vary based on the society’s competition needs for the following year. Typically, ADRHS offers memberships to those who score in the top 15% of all participants.

Contact ADHRS for more info: adrhs@brooklaw.edu

Transfer Students

Transfer students may be eligible for membership in ADRHS in the competition year for which they matriculate at Brooklyn Law School. Transfer students who are interested in becoming members may inquire to ADRHS at adrhs@brooklaw.edu.

Have Questions? Contact Us

General Inquiries: ADRHS@brooklaw.edu
President: ellen.piazza@brooklaw.edu,
Alumni Contact: sydney.parks@brooklaw.edu