Compete in mock trials and strengthen your advocacy skills

Brooklyn Law School’s Moot Court Honor Society is one of the most distinguished and accomplished moot court programs in the country. Students in the Trial Advocacy Division and the Appellate Advocacy Division compete in over thirty competitions across the United States and overseas. These competitions span all areas of the law, from family law to criminal procedure to constitutional law to international law. Year after year, students win individual awards for outstanding oral and written advocacy, as well as group awards for winning competitions and advancing to quarter-final, semi-final and final rounds.

In addition to providing students with substantial opportunities to strengthen their advocacy skills, Moot Court Honor Society provides ample opportunities for personal growth and leadership, including coaching and serving on the Executive Board. Further, members who are selected to serve on the Executive Board receive scholarship funding during the 3L/3P/4P year in which they hold a position on the Executive Board.

2023-2024 Executive Board and National Teams

Executive Board

Madison Colledge Moore

Vice Presidents - Appellate Advocacy
Jami Gross
Forrest Stakelum

Vice President - Trial Advocacy
Moriah Schindler

Prince Competition Coordinator
Caitlin Oakley

Appellate Coordinator
Michael Futral

Trial Coordinator
Nneka Wharton

Tyler Carlin

Outreach Chair
Meredith Leder

Appellate Advocacy National Teams

NYC Bar I & II Teams
Sophia Overall
Ashton Kittredge
Samantha Imber
Jacob Pons

ABA Nationals
Austen Fisher
Samantha Mintz-Agnello

Vis International Arbitration Team

Zoe Harrelson-Louie
Jillian Horowitz
Paulina Jedrzejowski
Beatrice Rubin
Selma Tabakovic
Allison Toner

Trial Advocacy National Teams

American Association for Justice National Team
Devin Barbaro
Zach Islam
Margaret Kartsonis
Elizabeth Loizides

Texas Young Lawyers Association National Team
Hannah Bretz
Claire Miolene

Faculty Advisor
Louis Jim

2023-2024 MCHS Members

Returning Members

Adam Ackerman
Michael Ascher
Miriam Avrutin
Erin Azie
Rosalie Calvet-Soubiran
Gabriel Clendenning
Marygrace Cole
Jose Luis Gerez
Deann Haight
Zackary Harris
Aurora Hermida
Jordan Hessinger
Braeden Hodges
Benjamin Johnson
Marko Jukic
Matthew Killip
Presley Klinger
Callie Kramsky
Shreya Krishnamurthy
Alexis Lamper
Rahmel Lee Robinson
Julie Leebove
Ian Mauro
Matthew McDonough
Jimmy Nguyen
Giselle Omar
Michael Qian
Jack Ralph
Arjun Reddy
Davis Rosser
Mathew Santoyo
Lindsay Silverman
Matthew Sobel
Stephanie Stern
Brendan Sullivan
Haley Tobin
Jowel Uddin
Matthew Vance
Ashley Velasquez

New Members
Anika Austin
Bailey Baumgarten
Mikko Biana
Angela Chang
Laine Cohen
Laurie Davis
Neha Dhiman
Dylan Diamond
Krista Doherty
Jennifer Evans
Taylor Faulds
Jillian Finn
Alexandra Flores
Emma Fuchs
Evan Glatt
Matthew Glogower
Katherine Gomez
Avery Gott
Sarah Gouda
Alex Grayes
Carly Hecht
Liam Higgins
Madeline Hone
Sophia Hudock
Julie Hung
Hyun Ji Jung
Jacqueline Kindler
Ryan Lefkowitz
Stephanie Leo
Alison Lewis-Towbes
Ruby Rose Moscone
Alanna O'Hagan
Evan Oliver
John Overbeck
Olivia Perkins
Christina Philippides
Giulia Pines
Jade Polanco
Dylan Quirk
Rachel Roberts
Delenn Robin
Maxwell Russ
Sarah Ryan
Sukhjot Saroya
Jason Saville
Taylor Seymour
Dylan Shapiro
Eric Simon
Emily Slavkin
Gabriel Slobodyansky
Bowen Song
Danielle Stoller
Veronica Tadros
Jenna Tammaro
Sinbay Tan
Steven Torres
Gregory Wagner
Marguerite Willis

Trial Advocacy Division

The Trial Advocacy Division of the Moot Court Honor Society invites all 1L/2P/3P students to participate in the Spring Trial Division Tryouts. From this competition, the Trial Division selects new members to join the Society and compete the following year in competitions around the country.

The Spring Trial Division Tryouts consists of two rounds. In each round, a student must deliver an opening statement and conduct the cross examination of a witness portrayed by a current member of the Society. Students are provided with a Trial Record approximately two weeks prior to the first round and are assigned to either the prosecution or the defense and assigned the witness they will cross-examine.

Current members of the Trial Advocacy Division judge students participating in the Spring Trial Division Tryouts. Judges look for competitors that manifest a basic familiarity with the content and purpose of an opening statement and cross-examination and who are able to advocate with confidence and conviction.

Chosen Society members demonstrate the fundamentals of opening statements and cross-examinations in a workshop prior to the competition. Students who participate in Spring Trial Division Tryouts but are either not invited to join the society or are placed on the waitlist may try-out again during the Summer of their 2L/3P year.

Appellate Advocacy Division

Members of the Appellate Division compete each year in numerous competitions throughout the country. These competitions give students the opportunity to hone both their research and writing skills.

Students work hard to research and produce written briefs on issues involving the subject area of law in which they will compete. They spend a number of weeks drafting their briefs, then engage in weeks of “practice rounds,” aided by their coaches and members of the Society, to perfect their oral argument skills. By the time the competition takes place, they have perfected their arguments on both sides of the issue.

Appellate competitions address a wide spectrum of subjects, ranging from family law to criminal procedure to constitutional law to international law. Our Appellate Division competitors have won competitions every year and often advance beyond preliminary rounds to the quarter-final, semi-final and final rounds of competition.

Appellate Division Membership

Members of the Moot Court Honor Society’s Appellate Division are selected primarily through a two-round competition held in the spring of their 1L/2P/3P year of law school. Students who are either not invited to join the Society or are placed on the waitlist during their 1L/2P/3P year may apply for membership again during the Summer of their 2L/3P year.

Jerome Prince Memorial Evidence Competition

Each year, Brooklyn Law School hosts the Dean Jerome Prince Memorial Evidence Competition. Named in honor of the late Dean and renowned evidence scholar, the competition draws over 30 law school teams from across the country to participate in an appellate competition addressing an issue at the forefront of evidence law. Members of the Moot Court Honor Society coordinate and facilitate the Prince Competition, and some students have an opportunity to work with faculty members to research and write the competition problem.

Willem C. Vis International Commerical Arbitration Moot

Brooklyn Law School is proud to send a team to the 30th Annual Vis Moot held in Vienna, Austria in April 2023. The purpose of the Vis Moot is to foster the study of international commercial law and arbitration and provide a practical training to students for resolving international business disputes. The team is comprised of third-year students from the Society, as well as unaffiliated students who have demonstrated excellence in requisite advocacy skills. Brooklyn Law School will host a practice demonstration for the public in the spring semester. Have questions or need additional information? Email the Brooklyn Law School Vis Team at

Recent Moot Court Winners

Moot Court Honor Society
250 Joralemon Street
Brooklyn, NY 11201
(718) 780-7922
(718) 532-2227